top of page

To start over from scratch ?! #internship

This week... I disappeared from the blog because I had to take a crucial decision for the rest of this working experience in London - either to stay at AIFS or to look for another company !


Let me start the history from scratch !


" [...] On the 1st of April, I began my internship at AIFS, an American company that organizes university exchange programmes all around the world. The head offices are in the US but also in London, at the Dilke House where I was hired as an intern to assist students during their stays in the City. However, after several days, I realised that the responsibilities given were more education than tourism related. Although they promised that I would book events and develop the database of London attractions, they were not at all the main tasks... In fact, I was what they call a Student Advisor which basically I felt like a monitor in a camp (providing support in any situation while they enjoy their student life abroad). Well, after the profesor agreement from France, I explained to my manager that this doesn't correspond to my course and my expectations in general --> I want to deal with group reservations and revenue management in a daily basis not with student groups and general administration work. I understand that it is not their peak time but printing factsheets to fill in the empty holders or going to welcome dinners to entertain groups were definitely not professionally relevant to validate my degree. "


Enough of tragedy... and these are life hazards that make you stronger.


After this episode, I had to be proactive and look for something else. Yesterday, I went to Ealing Broadway and King's Cross St Pancras and presented to hotels and travel agencies my profile to start ASAP !!!


My impression : I was glad to see that people at the reception were trying to help me as much as possible. The majority called their manager or gave me their HR details (email and/or phone number).


FINGERS CROSSED !!!







The size of a hard boiled egg, with chocolate shell !

Believe it or not...

 

visitors and no more comments ... What are you waiting for ? There is no censorship, only friendship !

bottom of page