top of page

Double boost #UKemployment

Last Friday, I was un-intern-ployed... If we can say so... (to check the reasons, it's here)


Within 2 days asking near Acton Town, Chiswick and Ealing area, I ended up with 2 interviews for :


* A 2-star hotel, to work at the reception and breakfast room

* A tour operator, to assist in group bookings


Although I prefered the hotel option, I decided to choose the tour operator because it was the occasion of learning how to sell rooms to these professionals in order to maximise rate occupancy.


The meeting was on Monday and I started the day after - straight forward ! A 12-minute walk and I'm in front of the desk with colleagues explaining me (trying to !) how to manage the booking software : TourPlan. It's quite grey but after a week of questions and mistakes I'm able to understand their references.


Apart from that, I was also asked to do mere tasks (here come the clichés !) like delivering tickets to hotels or stamping travel cards. But hey, they are other advantages like an eductour to Holiday Inn next to the Wembley Stadium, whose sales representatives rolled out the red carpet with canapés and champa... no... beers !!! Cheers !!!


The size of a hard boiled egg, with chocolate shell !

Believe it or not...

 

visitors and no more comments ... What are you waiting for ? There is no censorship, only friendship !

bottom of page